Who we are

By alphabetical first name order:
Almut Beige, Ana Predojevic, Anja Metelmann, Anna Sanpera, Chiara Macchiavello, Christiane Koch, Christine Silberhorn, Costanza Toninelli, Dagmar Bruss, Elisa Ercolessi, Elisabetta Paladino, Francesca Ferlaino, Giulia Ferrini, Gloria Platero, Ivette Fuentes, Kae Nemoto, Leticia Tarruell, Maria Bondani, Marilu Chiofalo, Marisa Pons, Milena D’Angelo, Mio Murao, Nicole Fabbri, Paola Verrucchi, Pascale Senellart, Roberta Citro, Roberta Zambrini, Rosario Gonzalez-Ferez, Sabrina Maniscalco, Susana Huelga, Tanja Mehlstäubler, Valentina Parigi, Véronica Ahufinger.

Women for Quantum (W4Q) is a group of female physics professors currently mostly based in Europe but also in Japan, working in the field of AMO physics (quantum optics, atomic and molecular), quantum many-body physics, and quantum information. All of us hold tenured positions and have more than 10 years of professional experience post-PhD.

We have observed numerous initiatives aimed at improving gender balance in our field and making our professional environment more welcoming to diversity.

However, we find that most of these initiatives are ineffective in achieving these goals.


We welcome here individual Supporters